Trick Hat Media
Australia announce squad for 2019 World Cup, Smith & Warner in
Australia World-Cup 2019 Squad

Steve Smith & David Warner, who recently completed the one-year ban imposed on them over ball-tampering scandal, have been included in Aaron Finch-led Australia squad for 2019 World Cup. As many as six out of the 15 players were part of Australia’s 2015 World Cup squad as well. Australia will begin their World Cup campaign against Afghanistan on June 1.

In-form batsman Peter Handscomb & star quick Josh Hazlewood have both been left out of Australia’s World Cup squad, while the returns of Steve Smith & David Warner to the national side have been confirmed.

Selectors named their 15-man Cup squad this morning & the absence of Handscomb & Hazlewood underlines both the reversal of Australia’s recent one-day form & the depth of talent the panel had to choose from.

Australia’s World Cup squad

Aaron Finch (c), Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Handscomb has done little wrong with the bat since winning a recall to the one-day side in January, but the returns of Smith & Warner meant the race for batting spots was always going to be tight.

Handscomb has averaged 43 in 13 games this year, including a superb maiden one-day hundred in India & scored at a strike rate of 98 in that time, but it hasn’t been enough to hold on to his spot.

The Victorian’s ability to keep wickets even had some pundits predicting he would take the gloves ahead of incumbent Alex Carey, but the South Australian has held his spot and is the sole gloveman in the squad.

Usman Khawaja and Shaun Marsh have been rewarded for their good recent form with selection, while skipper Aaron Finch will lead a batting line-up that also includes allrounders Marcus Stoinis and Glenn Maxwell.